Viber / Whats App:+977 98510 95 800
Above the Himalaya Trekking
Excellence service
Fixed Departure Holiday Packages
You are here: Home » Testimonials

Testimonials

Nepal walking Holiday Tour

I normally do not write reviews of trips I have taken, but my recent trip to Nepal with my daughter for her college graduation was so superior to any other that I had to put it into words. I do my diligence when booking trips and I was struck by the variety and diversity of trips offered by Above the Himalaya Trekking (P) Ltd. and by its managing director, Puru Timalsena. I started corresponding with him almost a year in advance of my May-June trip. He was always very responsive to my many emails and always offered good, sound suggestions for a successful trip. We had limited time 9 days which is very short for a country like Nepal. I had traveled to Nepal 3 times before in the 90’s for business so I basically knew what I did and didn’t want to see. It was my daughter’s first trip there, so I really wanted it to be special. We were professionally met on time at the airport by Puru along with traditional Marigold traveler garlands. We stayed in a five star hotel while in Kathmandu. We were able to tour the whole Kathmandu valley with all of its temple sites with a wonderful tour guide, Koumara, who was well spoken in English and a wealth of knowledge about the Buddhist and Hindu cultures and religion. We also toured the walled city of Bhatkapur. We then flew on the Mountain flight past Everest and the rest of the Himalayan range. Then, a quick flight off to Pokhara, again all connections were met on time by representatives of the company. Due to the heat of the season and my health, we opted last minute, to change our trekking plans and remain in Pokhara. Puru completely altered our itinerary and within 1 hour our plans were changed to accommodate our new schedule. New tours were added and all worked seamlessly. All for only a nominal charge since we were adding nights in a good hotel and not staying in tea houses as originally planned. My daughter then flew on a Micro light aircraft into the Annapurna range, truly a once in a lifetime experience! We toured the Pokhara valley and explored around Fewa Lake, truly a beautiful calming place after the hustle and bustle of Kathmandu. We then again were met by our driver for our drive to Chitwan Park. While en route we had a wonderful white water rafting experience on the Trisulli River (Class 3). We saw the diversity of the countryside and the way of life of the people of the region, everything was so GREEN! After the raft ride we drove on to Chitwan Park. We stayed in a brand new hotel with beautiful grounds, rode camels and then elephants! We then saw an excellent cultural show of the Taru people, half dance and half martial arts! The next day our elephant safari was terrific, although no tigers were spotted, we saw Asian Rhino’s and spotted deer and a multitude of birds. My daughter then went for an Elephant Bath, where you ride an elephant bareback into the river and you get the full elephant trunk shower experience! She then rode her elephant back into town. After a wonderful meal prepared by our hotel staff, we packed for our flight back to Kathmandu for our last evening in Nepal, again staying in a five star hotel. We woke already packed and did a final walking tour of the city to Durbar square and some last minute shopping. Again we were met on time and whisked off to the airport for our trip home to NYC. As a parting gift we were each given a silk scarf as a token of friendship and safe travel. I would recommend Above the Himalaya Trekking to anyone wishing to go to Nepal. The itineraries can be combined or custom designed by Puru and fit into any travel schedule. They also have well designed preplanned treks throughout the region. They are a responsible, professional, honest, safety conscious organization, which you can rely on when booking from continents away. His prices are extremely competitive and a great value. I have visited over 52 countries and have never had better service!

Testimonials
2014-02-13
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Nepal cultural Tour

We are not trekkers and were looking for a private cultural tour of Nepal. Mr. Puru, the owner of the company, devised an itinerary for a two week tour of Nepal. The price included transfers, hotels, breakfast, car and driver, and sightseeing tours with a local guide in each location. The price was less than one would pay for a group tour. I would recommend his company to trekkers and non-trekkers alike. He was personally available to us for questions and to make sure we were satisfied.

The personal service and the quality of the guides and the driver were even better than we expected. Our driver was a very careful driver -- a rarity in Nepal. He did not frighten us with his driving. If you have been on the highways in India and Nepal, you know how important this is. The guides, since it was a private tour, adjusted what we saw to our interests and our stamina.

We spent time in Kathmandu, Chitwan National Park, Bandipur, and Pokhara. We saw a lot of animals, many fantastic old temples, and a couple of cultural dance shows. When we arrived, Mr Puru suggested that we make one change and fly back from Pokhara to Kathmandu. It was a great suggestion-- listen to his suggestions.

Testimonials
2016-06-13
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Best of Nepal Tour December 2015

I booked a tour with Mr. Puru for 10 day visit to Nepal. The driver Hari was superb as we drove with him for 10 days. All the arrangement from the beginning to the end of the tour were great and stress free. The guides provided in all 3 cities (Kathmandu, Chitwan, Pokhara) were very knowledgeable and specially guide in chitwan was excellent. Mr. Puru took great care as he called and emailed to make sure that our tour was going smooth. He even changed our hotel in Kathmandu on our last day as we didn't like the previous hotel. He treated with a dinner on our last night in Kathmandu which I thought was very sweet. I can highly recommend this tour company to anyone visiting Nepal.

Testimonials
2015-12-28
Rated 5 / 5 stars

EBC Trek

Loved our Himalayan adventure . Our guide Basu, was a very knowledge, friendly, helpful and really looked after us. We were able to trust him which is very important. He also had a great sense of humor and we had quite few laughs together. His English was also very good and we had no trouble in communicating. our porter Bikram was also very  good, polite and hard working. He looked after me when Basu had to look after my sick husband and did a very good job. His English  was also good.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday. 
Testimonials
2015-06-10
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Annapurna Base Camp trek

While I was planning for ABC trek in December, I found Above the Himalaya through trip advisor. It was a pleasant experience from the moment I have contacted Mr Puru. He has answered each and every question I had very patiently. They have arranged A-Z of my trip right from pick up to dropping back at the air port. When we were running short of money he helped us like a friend assuring that it is all okay. He even rearranged our hotels when we opted to extend our stay in Pokhara.

With respect to the trek guide(Basu) and support person(Prahlad) they very knowledgeable of the history and terrain. They took us to the best lodges on the trail where we enjoyed the top notch hospitality of Nepaleese cuisine and culture.

Overall I can strongly recommend Above the Himalaya to anyone willing to trek in Nepal. Cheers and keep up the good work.

Testimonials
2015-12-10
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Annapurna Base Camp Trek

This was an experience of a lifetime! My boyfriend and I did a 7 day trek from Nayapul to Annapurna Base Camp and back via Phedi with a guide and porter from Above the Himalaya Trekking and I would recommend them to anyone planning a trek or adventure Nepal. Prior to our trek, Puru was easy to communicate with via email, accommodating and quick to answer all of my many questions. They helped set up our transportation to/from Pokhara, helped make sure we had the correct equipment, and gave advice prior to the trek. Our guide, Basu, was extremely knowledgable and experienced. He made sure we felt safe and incredibly well taken care of during our trip. Our porter, Pharlad, was a true superman! Together, the two of them made the trek fun and looked out for us the entire time. We truly felt that the Above the Himalaya team had our best interests in mind the entire trek -- keeping us informed of every detail, being flexible to our requests, ensuring that we were taken care of in all guest houses, and teaching us about Nepali culture and language. Definitely consider booking with Above the Himalaya!

Testimonials
2016-05-03
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Everest Base camp Trek

I was very impressed by the professionalism of all. Our guide Purna provided us a great service, always very helpful and ready to answer all  our questions. I felt very safe during the trekking. Purna  was very attentive all the time, especially in tricky moments.

I am very happy about having choosen "Above the Himalaya". I am 100% satisfied. Our porter is lovely, very friendly and helpful. Thank you for providing us an amazing holiday.
Thank you for Puru for replying to my doubts so quickly via email before the trek. Your arrangement were perfect we did not worry about anything. 
Thank you
Testimonials
2016-06-09
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Everest Base Camp- Gokyo Lake

The trek was wonderful. It was more difficult than i thought it would be but the great scenery made everything worth the effort. The tea  houses were good. The meals were delicious , we made many friends while staying at the tea houses. The porter Bhavpat and Gopal were great. they were hard workers and gave us extra  assistance while going over Chola Pass. 

Phurba, our guide was wonderful, we could not ask for better guide. When i got sick  he offered extra help. He was always concerned with our safety. His command of English was excellent . His sense of humor kept everything light.
I would  recommend Phurba  and our 2 porters. They made a great trip ever better.
Testimonials
2014-06-09
Rated 5 / 5 stars

Langtang Valley Trek

This was an awesome trip.We have been once before in the the lower region of Annapurna but this trip was special. Puru was very quick in emailing and answering my many questions . The trip was well organized . Our guide Sitaram  was very flexible. He was very knowledge about the area and was happy to answer our question. The children were also happy and relaxed with him. May be  he would  have told us in more detail, what would be happening the next day. He did  when we asked and that was good. The porter were always polite and seemed happy and relaxed. 

All in all an excellent trek, We would come back and do trip with "Above the Himalaya" again. 
Testimonials
2015-04-14
Rated 5 / 5 stars

langtang

Excellent trek- My first in Nepal

Sitaram the guide was very helpful, pleasant and answered all the questions with informed answers. Very good English. He had a nice sense of humour and was patient with our slow pace. The porters also did an excellent job. Again they are helpful, friendly, and pleasant.Indra had quite good English and was strong, friendly and helpful. Dham was also very friendly and hardworking. Ram was also helpful but younger and shyer.
I would  suggest that we are given an itinerary with distances, rough times and where we advice about what is available in huts- example ability to charge. 
It was a wonderful experience. We will be back with the rest of my family. 
Testimonials
2015-04-09
Rated 5 / 5 stars
What Travellers Say